The Waiting Room

30 May

I’m vegie, and I’m also wheat and dairy intollerant, but I adore food. I like to go out to eat, but I hate it when you really look forward to going out for a meal and are disappointed.

Tonight, my friends and I (one vegie, one not) are heading to an awesome vegie restaurant in Eaglescliffe called The Waiting Room. (http://www.the-waiting-room.co.uk/) Needless to say, I have never been disappointed here.

The Waiting Room is probably my favourite restaurant, and I’m so lucky to have such amazing vegie food right on my doorstep. The food they produce is seasonal, so they make the most of what is available at different times of the year.

They say:  “We use much local and organic produce, including excellent organic wines, beers, teas and freshly ground coffee. A proportion of the vegetables we use are organic, and delivered on the day they are picked, from Larchfield Community Farm. We also use free range eggs, and organic bread and milk.

The menu can also be adapted for vegan and wheat-free, which is brilliant for me. They are also award winning (receiving a nod from both The Guardian newspaper and the Vegetarian Society).

The feel of the restaurant is lovely, really rustic and homely and the waiting staff are always helpful and a delight to interact with. It’s called The Waiting Room because it is really close to Eaglescliffe railway station. So, as you might have guessed I’m really looking forward to eating out this evening.

My only complaint is their portions are huge, and it’s sooooo nice you always end up eating more than you really should, and feeling far too full for the rest of the evening!

Oh, and their home-made desserts – to. die. for!

Leave a Reply

