Tofu Cheesecake Experiment

31 May

As you may recall I particularly enjoyed a dessert I bought last week by a food company called Laura’s Idea, so I decided to see whether I could recreate it myself.

Attempt one seems to have gone pretty well. I used the ingredients on the pack as the base to my experiment, and I’ll share the recipe below. I’m pretty pleased with the base for the cheesecake, it’s absolutely delicious. I may have overdone the amount of agave nectar in the ‘cheesecake’ part, but we will see.

Vegan Tofu Cheesecake (based on the Laura’s Idea original)

Serves 2

Base: 1 tablespoon oats, 1/2 tablespoon sesame seeds, 1/2 tablespoon chopped hazelnuts, 1/4 tablespoon rasins, 1 teaspoon malt extract, 1 teaspoon apple juice, 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract.

Cheesecake: 1 pack firm silken tofu (I used blue dragon), agave nectar (to taste) and 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla extract

1. Put the oats, sesame seeds, chopped hazelnuts and rasins into a small blender and blitz together.

2. Pop this into a bowl and mix in the malt extract, apple juice and vanilla extract until it starts coming together (if it is a bit dry add a bit more apple juice).

3. Press this mixture into the bottom of 2 large ramekin dishes, and place them in the fridge to chill.

4.  Meanwhile, place a pack of firm silken tofu into the blender and blitz until smooth. Add the vanilla and the agave nectar to taste. Mix it all up, and then pour it into your ramekins on top of the base you popped in earlier. Put it back into the fridge and chill until you want it.

You can serve this Tofu Cheesecake with any topping you want to i.e. fresh fruit, fruit compote, or jam. Or just leave it plain if you prefer.

For a first effort I don’t think this is too bad. I’m actually quite pleased with it. I do want to have a go at tweeking it a little, and I’ve found a recipe for a chocolate version, which I wouldn’t mind experimenting with. I don’t think I would do much to the base though, as I am pretty pleased with that.

One Response to “Tofu Cheesecake Experiment”

  1. Liz April 11, 2010 at 3:41 pm #

    Hi Bea!! Thank you very much!! I have been trying to find a recipe for Laura’s idea tofu cheescake… I will try it and I will let you know… Thanks!!!

Leave a Reply

