Wholefoods Market London

31 May

I was in London on Thursday last week, and used the opportunity to drop into the Wholefoods Market store in Soho.

I discovered Wholefoods Market whilst I was in North Carolina in February for work, and have to say, fell in love slightly. I always enjoy exploring supermarkets overseas. I think it says so much about the people that live there, but Wholefoods Market was a total revelation. I was so excited when I heard that they had opened a few in London. Sadly, I think it may be a long time, if ever, before they reach north east England.

I digress.

I dropped in to collect a couple of bits for the train journey home. Seeing as I would be travelling when I usually have my evening meal I knew I would be starving, plus I’d eaten hardly anything all day because the venue for the meeting, who were providing lunch, had given me a fish salad. Tut. So what better place than Wholefoods Market to pick up something delicious for my evening meal?!

I chose a yummy salad, and a couple of other bits and bobs to go with it (how could I resist, everything looked amazing!) My first discovery was food by a company called Laura’s Idea. I chose a Tofu Pouch to go with my salad, and it was absolutely delicious! No wheat, and vegan too. (I’m not vegan, but do try to eat vegan as much as I can – I’m certainly heading in that direction anyway). It was stuffed with yummy vegetables and brown rice, and really filling. Just gorgeous!

Then for dessert I also picked up a Laura’s Idea product. This time it was a Tofu Cheesecake. I really miss cheesecake, but the base is wheat and I find the whole cheesecake bit too rich for me nowadays.

However, Laura’s Idea’s cheesecake was brilliant because it was wheatfree and the ‘cheesecake’ bit was made from silken tofu, so again it was vegan. It was absolutely amazing.

So, for all the lucky souls living in London, I highly recommend Laura’s Idea products to you. I’m going to have a bash at making the Laura’s Idea Tofu Cheesecake myself today, I will let you know how it goes!

Also discovered in Wholefoods Market was a pack of 2 vegan Espresso Chocolate Truffles by a company called Booja-Booja based in Dorset. Yum.

I’m back in London in a fortnights time for a meeting. Guess where I will be going?!

Leave a Reply

