Wii Active

1 Jun

I like to try and keep fit. I used to be a member of the local gym, but I didn’t feel I was getting value for money. Plus, I’m one of those dreadful morning people, and the gym didn’t open early enough for me.

Anyway, to cut a long story short I work out at home instead using fitness DVDs and outdoors exercise like jogging and walking. Most days I get up at 5.30am and get in an exercise session before work. I recently bought a Wii and the ‘My Fitness Coach’ game for a change. It was good. I liked it. But it kept on getting hacked off with me when I missed sessions because I was travelling overseas. Plus I seemed to be woring really hard, and not burning a huge number of calories, so it wasn’t hugely motivating.

Last week I bought the Wii EA Sports Active Personal Trainer. I am so pleased with it. It’s very varied. I’m currently working through the 30 day challenge, which is great fun, and it’s making my ass and thighs ache so it must be doing something right!

It comes with 2 pieces of equipment. A strap that you attach to your upper right thigh, which holds the Wii nunchuck controller and allows the Wii to monitor your movements (and check you are working out correctly), and a resistance band which you use for resistance exercises to help you tone up your upper body.

Whether it has longevity remains to be seen, but at the moment I’m enjoying it, and would definitely recommend it if you are fancying a change from your usual fitness routine (and own a Wii).

Leave a Reply

