Pinhead Oatmeal

3 Mar

If I could only eat one food for the rest of my days it would almost certainly be porridge/oatmeal, provided I was allowed free reign on toppings of course.

ImageI usually buy rolled oats and my tried and tested formula is half a cup of oats to 1 cup of water. Sometimes I will have them as they are with maybe a squirt of agave, or I will add cinnamon and raisins, or if I am feeling really really decadent I will have it topped with peanut butter and dark chocolate, but then it becomes more of a dessert rather than a healthy breakfast. 

I have always liked the idea of the chewy texture of pinhead oatmeal, but had never really had much success until I discovered a recipe on Pinterest that solved all my pinhead oatmeal problems. This week I tried the recipe out for the first time, and by golly, it works a treat.

The recipe calls for making a large batch of pinhead oatmeal at once, which can then be stored in the fridge to dip into for the rest of the week. The blogger that created the recipe recommends dividing the pinhead oatmeal between individual pint sized Mason jars for easy on-the-go access through the week (plus the cute factor). I do not have Mason jars, but I do have a glut of plastic airtight boxes, so my oatmeal went into one of those. And this recipe certainly seems to work for pinhead oatmeal as it seems to get better for leaving it in the fridge to mature.

Into my Le Creuset pan went 4 cups of water and 1 cup of pinhead oatmeal. I brought the water up to the boil and then let the oatmeal simmer for 10 minutes. Then turned the gas off and left the pot, with it’s lid on, to stand overnight. The next morning I was rewarded with a great big pan of perfect creamy, chewy pinhead oatmeal. It was then just a case of scooping a big dollop out of the pan and into a bowl, reheating (adding a bit more water to make it the consistency that you like), and topping it with whatever you fancy. Awesome-sauce!

I really like this method for oatmeal and will certainly be using it in the future. I regularly go away for the weekend with my Ramblers group where we stay in hostels. The hostel kitchen can be a bit of a scrum in the morning with so many people making their breakfasts, as well as their packed lunches for a day’s walking. I think that this could be a good option for me to take along to either heat up in the microwave, or eat cold with a dash of nut, soy or oat milk and some fruity toppings.

Leave a Reply

