World Vegan Pizza Day, 30th June 2012

30 Jun

It’s been a long time since I last had pizza. Being wheat-intolerant and vegan, the number of pizza opportunities available to me in the UK were exceptionally limited. I’ve had vegan pizza on visits to the US (usually picking up a frozen Amy’s rice crust pizza) but it has definitely been a while.

So, when I saw it was Vegan Pizza Day on the 30th June I thought, what better excuse to get my bake on, and cook myself up one delicious vegan pizza.

I started the crust first thing this morning. Leaving it to prove I headed out for my run, and continued on it for the rest of the day, slowly growing in a bowl on the living room floor! At dinner time I started to assemble my pizza. I opted for a tomato sauce base, then portobello mushroom slices, green olives and a sprinkling of Redwood mozzarella style vegan cheese.

The conclusion? The great pizza experiment was a massive success. My pizza was delicious and I will almost certainly make it again. However, seeing as I ate far, far too much of it (because it was so delicious) and I now have a stomach ache, perhaps I won’t make it too often! 🙂

Happy Vegan Pizza Day. What did you have?

Leave a Reply

