Great North 10k, Gateshead

22 Jul

No hiking this Sunday because I was taking part in the Great North 10k. I really like the 10k distance, it’s not too long, and it’s always a pleasant run (especially since my regular runs are about 5miles, so it’s not that much further to the 6.2 mile mark of a 10k).

My plan for this summer was to do a series of 10k runs, but it hasn’t quite worked out like that because the last one I was meant to do I was injured for. I’m still nursing a problem with my right foot (plantar fasciitis) but ran with it taped up today, and it seems to be ok. The next one I’m booked in for, the Middlesbrough Pride 10k, I’m now going to be in Pembrokeshire for: useless!

Image

Anyhoo, today’s run was good. I went over to Gateshead to walk down with some friends from work. The race set us off in waves, and they were in a different wave so I didn’t get to run with them but we met up afterwards, and I’m actually much happier running on my own anyway.

The course in Gateshead was really nice. From the International Athletics Stadium we ran down to the quayside and along the Gateshead side of the Tyne passing the Baltic, Sage, under the Tyne Bridge, past the swing bridge and a good way along the quayside. At the 5k mark we turned around and headed back the way we came. The course has some nasty hills in it in the latter half that really sucked the energy out of you. The worst was a nasty climb in the last half mile from the quayside back up to the stadium. A lot of people walked it, but I’m pleased to say I ran the whole thing, hills and all. The final part was a lap of the stadium, and I even had enough beans left to sprint the last 200m or so, which I was so pleased about even if I did feel like I was going to vomit as I crossed the finish line!

The weather was pretty nice for running too – dry, mild and cloudy. Perfect.

Afterwards we headed back to my colleague’s house for lunch of lentil soup and a wheat-free pumpkin muffin, which I had made yesterday. I think we had earned it!

Image

Final time from my chip was 1 hour 3 minutes, which I’m pretty pleased about for the course and all it’s hills. The next goal is to get my 10k time below the 1 hour mark, so I’m going to have to start working on my speed. 

4 Responses to “Great North 10k, Gateshead”

  1. drinkrunyoga July 22, 2012 at 3:33 pm #

    Great job on the 10k! It’s one of my favorite distances too! Cheers!

  2. John July 22, 2012 at 7:44 pm #

    Nice time!

    • beablogs July 22, 2012 at 7:51 pm #

      Thanks John! I’ve started following you on the daily mile. 🙂

      • John July 22, 2012 at 8:04 pm #

        Ditto!

Leave a Reply

