Vegan Food Swap Awesomeness

17 Aug

What a week it has been! I work for a University and this week was results week, which means mad, mad, mad busy and lots of statistics and phone calls from panicked students and parents, and just general madness, and very, very, very long days, and not much sleep. My desk is a disaster zone. I have been relying on Flat White Durham’s coffee, and chocolate, and porridge, and apples to see me through. And of course, lots of good music.

Image

 

All I can say is I am very pleased it is Friday and I get a couple of days to chill before mopping up next week. Friday afternoon was made so, so, so much better by the fact that my Vegan Food Swap parcel arrived from my food swap partner Rita.

To Happy Vegan’s Mitsu and Sasha started organising this for UK vegans so that we could all get to know each other, and eat awesome vegan noms at the same time. I was definitely in. 

Rita, who is my swap this month is from London. I was swapping with a lovely lady called Charlotte. Next moth we will all get someone different.

I felt a bit sorry for Rita because I’m also wheat-intolerant, but she played an absolute blinder and I opened my food parcel this afternoon to a whole host of vegan treats. The girl did good. Lots of vegan chocolate and wheat-free cookies which I couldn’t even hope to source up here in the NE of England. I am really going to enjoy digging in to them over the coming months. 

So, thanks Rita for my parcel of awesome calories! And thank you Mitsu and Sasha for organising this!

And if you are a vegan and are interested in taking part in the food swap, mosey on over to the To Happy Vegan’s website http://www.tohappyvegans.com/wordpress/uk-vegan-food-swap/ and get yourself signed up!

Image

4 Responses to “Vegan Food Swap Awesomeness”

  1. Rita Fontes (@rita_fontes) August 23, 2012 at 10:10 pm #

    Aww It was actually fun looking for vegan gluten-free treats, I never realised there is so much stuff celiacs can’t eat! Now be careful in rationing all those calories haha x

    • beablogs August 24, 2012 at 6:07 am #

      I must confess that most of them have been inhaled already! 🙂
      Thoroughly enjoyable. Thanks so much.

    • beablogs August 24, 2012 at 6:09 am #

      Oooh forgot to mention, that mushroom pate was absolutely amazing. I had it spread on my wheat-free toast: it’s the best its ever tasted!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. To Happy Vegans » Blog Archive » UK Vegan Food Swap August 2012 - August 24, 2012

    […] Bea’s Blog […]

Leave a Reply

